This Resource Guide for Drug Information will provide drug information, drug terminology, images, dosing and administration, side effects, and much more.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2015
Welcome to the Calder Medical Library Resource Guide for Drug Information. This guide will provide essential information for your clinical practice.
You can navigate this guide by using the links on the Table of Contents box or the Tabs on top of the Resource Guide for Drug Information to go directly to the section that you want.
- Access Medicine -Drug Monographs
AccessMedicine is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 50 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device. Note: real time access is only available on iPhone/iPhone 3G, Google's Android, and BlackBerry
Clinical search engine that adapts to any screen size, helping you find fast answers and deep evidence from more than 1,000 full-text reference books, 600 full-text journals, videos, images and more.
DynaMed™ is a clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. Through this process of Systematic Literature Surveillance, the best available evidence determines the content of DynaMed (EBSCO Product).
Isabel is an award-winning, clinical decision support system designed to enhance the quality of diagnosis decision making. Its unique feature is a diagnosis reminder system.For a given set of clinical features Isabel instantly provides a checklist of likely diagnoses including bio-terrorism conditions, related diagnoses and causative drugs. Subscription database for authorized UM/JMH users.
A collection of drug databases with up-to-date information offered on drugs, diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicine, and more. Subscription database for authorized UM/JMH users.
A powerful web-based portal that features DSM-V®—the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world—and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. It provides access to the DSM® Library, Journals, Textbooks, American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines, self-assessment tools for study, clinical and research news from Psychiatric News, and medication information handouts for patients. Useful for searching information on psychiatric medications. Subscription database with access for authorized UM/JMH users.
A subscription to UpToDate® includes access to over 9,500 topics in 21 specialties. Click on a specialty to view the list of topics. The Drug Information Topic contains: General drug information, International drug information (concise), Patient drug information, Pediatric drug information, What's new in drug therapy, and Patient Information.
- ChemID Plus/ToxNet
Chemical dictionary file for over 350,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Many records include information on toxicity, physical properties, molecular weight and chemical structures.
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
- Drug Information Portal
This database provides more than 12,000 drug records from NLM and other key government agencies. Free government database.
An FDA database of prescription and over the counter drug products. It provides detailed information that includes active ingredients, manufacturers, chemical types, dosage forms and therapeutic equivalents.
- FDA Electronic Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
Updated daily, this FDA database lists by dosage and route of all generic approved drugs and their active ingredients.
- Hazardous Substances Databank (HSDB)
Focus on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals; enhanced with information on human exposure and administrative considerations. Free government website.
- Household Products Database - NIH
Health and safety information on household products. Free government website.
- MedlinePlus-Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Comprehensive information source on drugs, supplements, herbals and medical conditions offered by the National Library of Medicine. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, medical news, and directories of associations are some of the many resources provided to consumers and health care providers.
- National Drug Code Directory
Database produced by the FDA with a current list of all prescribed drugs that have been manufactured for commercial distribution. Provides a complete list of dosage forms, route of administration, active ingredients, strength, units, major drug class and FDA approved application number.
- NIDA (National Institute of Drug Abuse)
Learn the facts about the most commonly abused drugs. Each drug page includes a brief overview, street and clinical names, the effects of the drug on the brain and body, statistics and trends, and relevant publications and articles written by NIDA researchers and scientists.
- PDQ-NCI Comprehensive Cancer Database
PDQ (Physician Data Query) is the National Cancer Institute's comprehensive cancer database. It contains summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; a registry of 8,000+ open and 19,000+ closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and a directory of professionals who provide genetics services. PDQ also contains the NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms, with definitions for 6,800+ cancer and medical terms, and the NCI Drug Dictionary, which has information on 2,300+ agents used in the treatment of cancer or cancer-related conditions. Free government website.