This guide presents selected resources in the life sciences available through the University of Miami Libraries and open access websites.
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2016
First Fleet Collection (Natural History Museum, London). (ARTstor)
FInding Journals by Title and A to Z list for Biology
- To locate any journal by its title (electronic, print or microform), use this link to take you to the Catalog.
- Tips: for a precise or efficient search,to the right of the 1st box use the drop down menu and select Title and for the 3rd box, select Journals and Serials.
For A-Z list of electronic journals at UM use this link: Biology e-journals
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
For finding information about journals,magazines, and other publications:
- Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive indexing of biological and biomedical research literature. Covers national and international meetings, reviews, technical letters and notes, meeting reports, software and books (1980 to 2002).
- Biological Abstracts Archive
Indexes life sciences literature from 1926 to 1968.
- Biological Journals (Proquest)
The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text. Topics include: Biological chemistry, Biophysics, Botany, Cytology and histology, Environmental studies, Microbiology, Microscopy Zoology
- Biological Sciences (Proquest)
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Access is to 6000 journal and conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- BIOSIS Citations
Provides comprehensive indexing of biological and biomedical research literature. Includes coverage of national and international meetings, reviews, technical letters and notes, meeting reports, software, and books (1969 to present).
Courtesy of UM's Calder Library, this is well laid out resource of databases and websites for DNA sequencing, coding, gene expression, genomics and more.
- Medline (Ovid)
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. MEDLINE contains citations and abstracts from 5,000 biomedical journals published worldwide (1946 to present).
- NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Resource for molecular biology information. Links to molecular sequence, structure and taxonomy databases, literature databases PubMed and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man). Includes teaching materials and online tutorials . "Resource List (A-Z)" to the left for full database inventory and the "All Resources" link for descriptions. "How To" tab for finding tips.
Open-access service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals back to the 1950s. Links to full-text articles and related resources.
Large abstract and citation database of research literature and scholarly web resources in life, physical, health, and social sciences.
- Science Direct
Science Direct provides students and faculty with access to more than 1800 journals.
- Web of Science with Conference Proceedings
Provides access to current and retrospective literature from research journals published worldwide. Cited Reference Search option facilitates navigation forward and backward through the literature to trace path of research (1945 to present; includes proceedings 1990 to present).
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Provides information about 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more
- Zoological Record
Indexes literature of animal research and behavior including conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nomenclature, physiology, reproduction, taxonomy(1864 to present).