Updates!
If you'd like to know when a new resource is added to this LibGuide, just click on the 
button to add the LibGuides feed to your feed reader.
If you are curious about RSS and what it can do for you, go to this libguide: http://libguides.miami.edu/rss
UM Resources
- Africana Studies
- Anthurium: a Caribbean Studies Journal
- As far as the eye/I can see: Caribbean Art and Visual Culture
- Caribbean Writers' Summer Institute Video Archive
- Center for Hemispheric Policy
- CLAS: Center for Latin American Studies
- Cuban Theater Digital Archive (University of Miami)
- Latin American Studies Degree Programs
- Periodismo - Master's in Journalism Program
Organizations
This is a short list of organizations that may be of interest to Latin American and Caribbean Studies students.
- Latin American Studies Association
- Caribbean Studies Association
- International Studies Association
- American Anthropological Association
- American Economic Association
- American Historical Association
- American Political Science Association
- American Sociological Association
- Latin American Jewish Studies Association
Welcome!
Hello and Welcome to the Latin American and Caribbean Studies Subject Guide!
Use the tabs above to search more efficiently, and make sure to look for the How To... boxes to get tips about searching the catalog, the databases, and much more!
Mei Méndez
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Librarian
About the Collection
The Latin American collection at the University of Miami Libraries contains materials that support doctoral-level research in all disciplines in Latin American Studies. The collection covers the English, French, and Spanish-speaking Caribbean as well as Mexico, Central American and South America. Our Iberian collection emphasizes topics in the Humanities and Social Sciences, especially those related to Spain and its relations with Latin America and the Caribbean.
The great strength of our circulating and archival collections is material in all formats on Cuba. The Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) is an invaluable source of primary and secondary research materials for Cuban and Cuban-American studies, housing materials dating from colonial times to the present. Thse materials document Cuba's history and culture as well as the experience of Cuban exiles and Cuban-Americans. The holdings of the CHC include a collection of approximately 50,000 volumes of rare and contemporary books; periodical publications from Cuba; Cuban exile periodicals or 'periodiquitos' published around the world; manuscript collections of personal and corporate papers; and collections of photographs, posters, maps and postcards and other materials. Items from selected collections have been digitized to become part of the CHC Digital Collection. Online access to the finding aids for these and other manuscript collections is also available.
The Caribbean Collection in the Special Collections Division is remarkable for its combination of breadth and depth. The holdings include all but three of the dozens of books published in or about Jamaica between its conquest by the English in the 1650s and the end of plantation slavery in the British Empire in 1834. Accounts in various languages describe the slave rebellion as well as the revolution itself and its aftermath. Travel narratives and other first-hand accounts describe the societies and histories of the major West Indies islands, as well as the smaller countries like Barbados, Antigua, Trinidad, and St. Lucia.
The Division also contains a number of remarkable rare titles on Guyana and Surinam, countries on the South American mainland but historically, culturally, and economically part of the West Indies. The Caribbean Collection stands as a very important companion to the Florida Collection, as together they provide a vital link to the history of the entire region.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Are you a Library fan?
If so, consider becoming our fan in Facebook.
Our Facebook page provides direct access to LibGuides, the WorldCat catalog, JSTOR, and more! Plus it will keep you updated on the latest events and services from the library. Just look us up under “University of Miami Libraries”.


Loading...
