This is the "Home" page of the "Federal Government Information (U.S.)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Jan 16, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page

FDLP - UM Libraries


The University of Miami Libraries is a selective depository library for the U.S. Government since 1939. 

Government documents span numerous subjects and come in many formats, including pamphlets, maps, periodicals and electronic (available through the Library Catalog) and print monographs. The Libraries also have large holdings of microfiche produced by the GPO and other sources of government information.

Print collections are located on the Mezzanine (press the "M" button on the stacks elevator), between the first and second floors. 

Core Government Information Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive
    Explores significant issues such as social, political, legal, scientific, environmental, economics, etc., with in-depth coverage of hot news topics.
  • CQ Weekly
    Detailed reports on congressional issues.
  • Digital National Security Archive
    Collection of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
  • FDsys
    FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.
  • Government Periodicals Universe  
    Searches the contents of approximately 170 magazines and newsletters published by the U.S. Government, much of which is available full text.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text database of around 6000 sources on topics such as current news and events, business, and legal information. Also features the most important American and international newspapers.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight  
    Indexes national and international statistical reports and more, published by the U.S. government & the World Bank. Full-text from 1995 to present.
  • ProQuest Congressional  
    Ongoing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents and executive and departmental reports.
  • Military & Government Collection  
    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
  • The CIA World Fact Book
    US government profiles (history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities).

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lisa Baker


Loading  Loading...