This is the "Home" page of the "FSS 195 Fall 2009 Dr. Manzor" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

FSS 195 Fall 2009 Dr. Manzor 

This guide was created to accompany a library instruction session for Dr. Lillian Manzor's FSS 195 course.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.miami.edu/fss195  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the FSS 195 Subject Guide.  Here's all the information you'll need to begin your research.  If you'd like a personalized consultation, please don't hesitate to get in touch with me.  My contact information is in the box to the left.

Mei Mendez

Subject Guides of Interest

Websites

 

Survey

Please take a moment to complete a short survey.  Your feedback is appreciated.  Scroll until you see my name and then select the 1 Minute Survey, Out of Class.

http://www.library.miami.edu/research/instruction/evaluations.html


Thank you.

 

 
 

Library Resources: Catalog

The Library Catalog can help you access plenty of information, including government resources and journals.  Here are some tips on how to use the catalog:

  • Use KEYWORD when you have a general idea of what you're looking for.
  • Use TITLE when you know the exact tile of the book, journal, or recording you're looking for.
  • Use AUTHOR when you know the author's name.  Remember to enter it LastName, FirstName.
  • Use SUBJECT when you know exactly what or who you topic is.
  • Clicking HERE to go to the Advanced Search page, which will help you in limiting your search.
 

Scholarly vs. Popular


Loading Video Clip...

Library Resources: Databases

You can save time by going through the databases by subject.  Some of the criteria to keep in mind when selecting a database are:

  • Is the database full text or abstracts only?
  • What kind of literature do you need?  Articles, books, statistics, etc?
  • Read the Search Help/Tips section in the databases, this will help you find better results faster.
  • Remember to record the citations you are interested in (email them to yourself, save them to RefWorks, etc.)

Here are some databases that I believe will be helpful:

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageMei Mendez


 
Description

  Loading content... please wait