Article Databases Tutorials
Latin American Newspaper Websites
Immigration and Diaspora
Journals, Newspapers, & Special CollectionsNational Libraries, Archives & Digital Collections
This is the "LACS Guide Home" page of the "Latin American and Caribbean Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American and Caribbean Studies   Tags: caribbean, latin_america, latin_american_studies  

A guide to Latin American and Caribbean Studies resources.
Last Updated: Nov 24, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

LACS Guide Home Print Page


Hello and Welcome to the Latin American and Caribbean Studies Subject Guide!

Use the tabs above to search more efficiently, and make sure to look for the How To... boxes to get tips about searching the catalog, the databases, and much more!

Martin A. Tsang

Latin American and Caribbean Studies Librarian


About the Collection

The Latin American collection at the University of Miami Libraries contains materials that support doctoral-level research in all disciplines in Latin American Studies.  The collection covers the English, French, and Spanish-speaking Caribbean as well as Mexico, Central American and South America.  Our Iberian collection emphasizes topics in the Humanities and Social Sciences, especially those related to Spain and its relations with Latin America and the Caribbean.

The core strength of our circulating and archival collections is material in all formats on Cuba.  The Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) is an unique source of primary and secondary materials for Cuban and Cuban-American studies, housing materials dating from colonial times to the present.  These materials document Cuba's history and culture as well as the experience of Cuban diasporas and, especially, Cuban-Americans. The holdings of the CHC include a collection of approximately 50,000 volumes of rare and contemporary books; periodical publications from Cuba; Cuban exile periodicals or 'periodiquitos' published around the world; manuscript collections of personal and corporate papers; and collections of photographs, posters, maps, and postcards and more.  Items from selected collections have been digitized, forming the CHC Digital Collections.  Online access to the finding aids for these and other manuscript collections are available.

The Caribbean content in the Special Collections department is remarkable for its breadth and depth. The holdings include all but three of the dozens of books published in or about Jamaica between its conquest by the English in the 1650s and the end of plantation slavery in the British Empire in 1834.  Accounts in various languages describe the slave rebellion as well as the revolution itself and its aftermath. Travel narratives and other first-hand accounts describe the societies and histories of the major West Indies islands, as well as the smaller countries like Barbados, Antigua, Trinidad, and St. Lucia.

The Division also contains a number of remarkable rare titles on Guyana and Suriname, countries on the South American mainland which are historically, culturally, and economically tied of the West Indies.  The Caribbean Collection stands as an important companion to the Florida Collection, and together they provide a vital link to the history of the entire region.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Martin Tsang, Ph.D.
Contact Info
(305) 284-9475
Send Email

Are you a Library fan?

If so, consider becoming our fan in Facebook.

Our Facebook page provides direct access to LibGuides, the WorldCat catalog, JSTOR, and more! Plus it will keep you updated on the latest events and services from the library.  Just look us up under “University of Miami Libraries”.


Loading  Loading...