Last Updated: Oct 23, 2013
The University of Miami Libraries Political Science Guide supports the research and curriculum of the Department of Political Science. Subject areas include public policy, public affairs, public administration, international politics, American politics, and more.
- Political Risk Yearbook
Provides political and economic risk reports on 106 countries.
- CIA World Factbook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
- Economist Intelligence Unit
Leading provider of country intelligence. EIU produces global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.
START HERE if you are beginning your research.
See ALL DATABASES tab for a comprehensive list.
- Academic Search Premier (1975 to present)
Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
- AccessUN (1945-present)
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to United Nations documents and publications from 1945 to date.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides updated information on the following topics for all countries of the world: Political Science, Geography, Business, Economics, etc.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
- CQ Global Researcher
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. From social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
- CQ Weekly (1983-present)
Detailed reports on crucial congressional issues are available from 1983 to present.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (1996-Present. Varies by Country)
Global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources.
- JSTOR Electronic Press
Non-profit, independent organization that converts and maintains full-text digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. MOST RECENT FIVE YEARS NOT INCLUDED.
- ProQuest Congressional
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the US Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.
- PAIS International Abstracts (1915-present)
Indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
- ProQuest Research Library
Provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles—over 3,600 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Public Administration Abstracts
Covers essential areas in the field, including public administration, public administration theory, and more, from the most important sources within the discipline.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Consists of an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 295,200 downloadable PDF documents, plus an abstract database of over 361,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 to present)
Journal articles in political science and related areas (international relations, law, public administration, and public policy). Significant full-text coverage.
- ProQuest Newsstand
Comprehensive database covering leading national and international newspapers.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database of nearly 6000 sources for researching company and business topics, legal information, and current news and events.
- Access World News
Provides information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 500 international sources. Includes the Miami Herald
- World News Connection
Full-text database compiled from thousands of translated and English-language foreign media sources.