Last Updated: Feb 11, 2013
Welcome to the South Asian Studies Subject Guide!
This guide presents selected selected print and electronic resources in South Asian Studies available through the University of Miami Libraries and open access websites.
- Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 to present)
Contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
- eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
Published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. Focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary, English and Spanish comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage begins in 1990.
- Historical Abstracts
Published since 1967. Indexes studies covering 1450 to present.
- Index Islamicus (1906-Present)
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.
- Lexis Nexis Academic
A continuously updated full-text database of nearly 6000 sources that are useful for researching company and business topics, legal information, and current news and events.
- PAIS International (1915 to present)
PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
- ProQuest Research Library
In-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975 to present)
Journal articles in political science and related areas (international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).